Monday, October 16, 2017

Halloween Horror Month BOOK REVIEW: "The Witches of Westwood" by Mark Curran

Image result for Witches of Wildwood

The Witches of Wildwood: Cape May Horror Stories
and Other Scary Tales from the Jersey Shore
 
10 Stories and a Novella
A Collection of Contemporary Horror Fiction
by Mark W. Curran 

About The Book:

Werewolves... vampires... swamp beasts... zombies... even a Jersey Devil... all of these chilling creatures and more await you in this haunting collection of 11 contemporary horror fiction stories by Mark Wesley Curran. Uniquely set 'down the shore' in South Jersey's Cape May County, these scary tales are sure to terrify and entertain both adult readers as well as young adults.

The spooky offerings include: 

- An abrasive radio talk show host is stalked by an angry werewolf in 'Werewolves of Dennis'  
- A Fun Pier boardwalk worker falls under the spell of a strange attic dwelling girl  in 'The Girl In The Attic'
- An ancient sailing ship filled with bloodthirsty zombies crashes into the Jersey Shore in 'Night of the Wildwood Dead'  

The cornerstone of the collection is 'The Witches of Wildwood,' the harrowing and suspenseful tale of a witch-hunting preacher hell-bent on killing four teenage sisters determined to destroy the world from their Wildwood boarding house.   

This collection contains:  The Girl In The Attic - Dante's Inferno At Castle Dracula - Neptune's Revenge - Night of the Wildwood Dead - Captain Harvey's Wildwood Seafood Palace - Showdown In Anglesea - The Fortune Teller Machine  - Jersey Devil - Werewolves of Dennis - Swamp Beast of Grassy Sound  - The Witches of Wildwood [novella].      

About the Author
Mark Wesley Curran is a writer of contemporary fiction, specializing in the horror and suspense genre. Born and raised in Suburban Philadelphia, he spent many summers living and working in Wildwood, New Jersey during its heyday. He now resides in Los Angeles where he enjoys creative pursuits as a writer, filmmaker and musician.  

-
Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Witches-of-Wildwood-1380613312012564/
-
Website: http://www.witchesofwildwood.com
-
Twitter: Mark Wesley Curran
@MarkWesleyCurr1 
https://twitter.com/MarkWesleyCurr1
Short Link: goo.gl/by78vh
-
Witches of Wildwood - Book Promotional Trailer
https://youtu.be/-fHOAUbK0xc



Reviews:

REVIEWS:
"H.P. Lovecraft said, "The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear, and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown." This perfectly sums up Mark's eleven horror tales.  With stories that include "Werewolves of Dennis," "Captain Harvey's Wildwood Seafood Palace," and his novella "The Witches of Wildwood," there is no doubt that Mark W. Curran will be a household name of horror along with the likes of R.L. Stine and Steven King."

- Dustin Hannah [Facebook Horror Fan]

Thursday, October 12, 2017

PRESS RELEASE: Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson will be at LOS ANGELES COMIC CON!

Stan Lee’s Los Angeles Comic Con and Official Media Partner ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY Announce Appearance by Dwayne Johnson at L.A.’s Mega Pop Culture Gathering at the Los Angeles Convention Center on October 28


For Immediate Release:

LOS ANGELES, CA (Thursday, October 12) – Stan Lee’s Los Angeles Comic Con and Time Inc.’s (NYSE: TIME) ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY (EW), the official media partner of the 2017 edition of L.A. Comic Con, announced today that Dwayne Johnson will make a special appearance at the convention. On Saturday, October 28, Johnson will appear on behalf of his upcoming film “Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle,” which hits theatres December 20. The 3-day pop culture extravaganza runs from October 27-29 at the Los Angeles Convention Center. 

As the Official Media Partner, EW is collaborating with L.A. Comic Con to enhance and elevate talent participation and programming for the over 100,000 attendees expected for this year’s 3-day mega-convention.  EW will feature all the fun and excitement of the Convention in the magazine as well as on EW.com.  And to top it all off, each and every badge holder will receive a one-year subscription to America’s leading pop culture magazine, with a total combined audience of 26 million consumers.

Badges are available now at http://StanLeesLAComicCon.com.

2017 marks the 7th year for Stan Lee’s L.A. Comic Con, which has grown into one of the largest gatherings of stars and creative talent in comic book, publishing, gaming, film, broadcast, cable and streaming entertainment. 

About Stan Lee’s Los Angeles Comic Con:
Stan Lee’s Los Angeles Comic Con is Los Angeles’ biggest and best large-scale, multi-media pop culture convention. Held annually at the Los Angeles Convention Center, Stan Lee’s L.A. Comic Con assembles the most exciting and innovative in comics, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, horror and all things pop-culture. With a mission to provide celebrity, creator and talent access that is unequalled in comic conventions, Stan Lee’s Los Angeles Comic Con features unique panels, autograph sessions and photo-ops that give fans once-in-a-lifetime opportunities to truly interact with their favorite creators and major players in the entertainment industry.  Stan Lee’s Los Angeles Comic Con is a partnership of Stan Lee’s Pow! Entertainment, Cassandra Peterson, and Comikaze Entertainment, Inc.  Visithttp://www.stanleeslacomiccon.com/.

ABOUT ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY
ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY is your all-access pass to Hollywood’s most creative minds and most fascinating stars. The magazine was launched by Time Inc. in 1990 and is America’s leading consumer publication in the entertainment category, with a guaranteed circulation rate base of 1.5 million and a combined audience of almost 28 million loyal, engaged fans.  Each day, EW.com publishes a myriad of featured stories, news articles, TV-recaps, original videos, film reviews and photo galleries. The PEOPLE/ENTERTAINMENT WEEKKLY Digital Network continues to rank as the #1 site in its competitive set with close to 100 million monthly unique visitors. ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY is the first to know about the best in entertainment. With sharp insight, unparalleled access and a trusted voice, EW keeps readers plugged into pop culture. This is where the buzz begins.

Halloween Horror Month Artist Spotlight: Francois Vaillancourt

  

Francois is a multidisciplinary artist and has been working in advertising for the past 25 years.
His site contains an overview of his illustration, design and fine art work.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Halloween Horror Month Author Spotlight: Christy Sloat

Title: The Survival Pact 
Author: Christy Sloat 
Genre: Horror/Paranormal/Demons/End of Times 
Release Date: 2/13/2017 
Cover Design: Rue Volley 

Blurb: 
Three friends. One promise. One goal. Survive. 
Kami thought she'd seen it all as a small time reporter for a New York Paper, but after hearing reports of the dead crawling from graves and attacking humans, she realized the world she once knew would never be the same again. Forced to flee the city, she heads south where her two best friends, Emma and Lou, reside in search of answers. As a drunken joke ten years earlier, the three friends made a vow that if the world went to hell they’d survive it together, no matter what. With the pact now a reality, they are forced to face a never ending tidal wave of the dead, tornadoes, earthquakes, and massive storms with hundreds of miles to go. Along with their new dog, Snack, the girls get closer to their destination but no closer to the answers as to why their world is filled with such evil. Will their plan of survival keep them alive or will they drown in the sea of the dead? 
Buy links: 
 http://smarturl.it/TheSurvivalPact 


EXCERPT:

The Survival Pact Excerpt:  


“What I’m speaking about is something that is literally supposed to be impossible. Yet, I have seen it with my own eyeballs. And Ida saw it, too,” she whispered. Ida is Lou’s mom, who I adore because she was so kick ass. “Ida is speaking about the end of the world stuff; the end times. You know my mom and how she gets. I can’t say I don’t disagree here.” 
I shook my head and tried hard to keep my eyes on the road. Focusing on this news and driving wasn’t easy. Besides, I was starting to feel exhausted and my eyes were going blurry. 
“What did you do to the thing? You know when it crawled up.” 
“Well, Ida shot it with Black Betty.” Black Betty was Ida’s .22 semi-automaticI have never shot a gun, but I respected Ida and her guns. I wished I had one right then, though. It would make me feel a heck of a lot safer. “Shooting ‘em any other place than the head, doesn’t do jack. You have to hit it right in the head. We burnt it too, so that may do the trick.” 
“I’m actually not sure what to say right now. I can’t believe we’re even talking about this.” I wouldn’t deny that I was scared out of my mind. Being in my car, outside in the open, made me feel exposed. I would feel much safer if I was with Lou and Emma. 
We’ve always had each other’s back since we met ten years ago. We were young but we needed each other so badly. All of us were eighteen and fearless then.  
I met Lou on the first day of college. We were roommates for four years and I met Emma through Lou. They’re cousins and they had each other longer, but they never once made me feel like a third wheel. Instead they included me in their family like a sister.  
“Believe it or not, it’s happening,” Lou said, pulling me out of my trance. “Have you slept at all?” 
“No. I’m feeling a little sleepy though.” 
“Well you get to a hotel. Make sure it’s safe and inside the bag I packed you, you’ll find something to keep you safe, if you need it,” Lou instructed. “Back in, so you can get out fast, if you need to. Don’t tell anyone anything. Use the lights in the bathroom only. They seem to like the light.” 
My hands shook at the notion of one of those things coming to my room and trying to attack me because it liked the light. I shivered.  
I hung up with Lou after promising her I would follow all instructions and that I would call her if anything happened. I found a little motel right off the interstate in Virginia. I backed in like she told me to and I didn’t speak to anyone besides the front desk lady. She certainly didn’t act like she knew anything anyhow.  
I flipped on the bathroom light only and closed the door behind me. I would have to get dressed in the bathroom as well as make my dinner, so that the light didn’t shine in the room itself.  
I felt like a covert spy hiding out from dead things.  
I made myself another sandwich and ate it while I pulled the backpack closer to me. Lou said she had something inside there to protect me; I was suddenly scared to see what it was. 
Lou said she made the backpack for me special and I was to never unpack it unless I had to.  
I recalled what I said to her when she gave it to me, “How will I know when to use it?”  
She told me, “You’ll know. Trust me.”  
She was right. I knew it was the right time, even if no one else knew about it. I knew and Lou knew. The world was changing. It seemed like every day there was awful news and terrible happenings even before today happened; shootings, mass chaos, and total unease. I read about it and wrote about it, despite the fact that I hated to. 
I knew the world wasn’t getting better any time soon, but I didn’t ever expect this to happen. The end of the world was something we spoke about in jest; never seriously. Of course Emma and Lou spoke about the biblical end of times frequently, but never really around me.  
They both knew I was never interested in talking about the end. It disturbed me. It scared me. I was married and I thought I wanted kids. So they backed off when I said that. Lou and Emma never wanted kids. They would talk to me about happy things, but Emma never brought up work and what she really did in the Marines. I think she wanted to protect me from it.  
If the world was coming down around us, I was happy I didn’t have kids to protect. I had myself. That was enough.  Then again, maybe they would figure this out and things would be fine. For now I would just make it to Lou’s and we would see what the progress was.  
I unzipped the heavy bag, trying not to damage the perfect way she packed it. The large backpack was more suited for hiking and had tons of pockets and slots.  
I found a flashlight, extra batteries, rope, a map that was nicely folded, and a change of clothes. At the bottom of the bag was a wind up radio, duct tape, matches, and a space blanket. I didn’t see anything for protection in that pocket; two more to go. I placed everything back inside, neatly, and unzipped the front pocket finding peanuts, freeze dried food packages nicely put together, water filtration tabs, granola bars, trail mix, and a pocket utility knife which could be used for protection, but not likely what Lou was talking about.  
The side pouch held a canteen that I filled up with fresh water right away. The other pouch had another flashlight for easy access.  The next pocket had all the essentials for building a shelter and a first aid kit. It wasn’t until I flipped the bag around that I found the extra hidden pocket. I reached inside and pulled not one, but two weapons. A large hunting knife that was sure to do some close up damage, and a handgun. 
I held it in my hand and realized that my fear of guns was deeper than I thought it was. Could I really shoot someone if I needed to? I liked to think so.  
If a woman like the one on the freeway attacked me, I wanted to think that I could shoot her. But without proper practice I was just an ill-informed person with a deadly weapon. I put the gun away and grabbed the knife, keeping it with me felt comfortable. I found the holster for the knife and the one for the gun, and saw that they were to be strapped to my leg.  
I shook my head and laughed. Lou was a badass. I couldn’t imagine where she got all this stuff and the time she spent on this bag must have taken forever. The fact that a sweet teacher had put this bag together made me laugh a little.  




                                                                The Brown House 
                                                            The Visitors Series book one IBSN-9780985538545 
Some secrets should never be revealed… Brylee Branson begrudgingly made the excruciating move with her family from the warm sandy beaches of California to small town living in New Jersey. As if she wasn’t miserable enough, they’ve moved into a creepy old house that everyone in the area claims is haunted. Brylee dismisses the idea of ghosts and hauntings, until she begins to see and hear things that can’t be explained… Brylee has no choice but to seek the help of new friends to unlock the secrets of this place she now calls home. But some secrets should never be revealed. Can the teens find a way to release the spirits imprisoned within the walls? Or will the curse claim them, too? 
The Brown House is based on true events. The actual house that is on the cover still stands today in New Jersey. 





View the book Trailer: 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRk7itFra4s 



 The Brown House Excerpt: 

 I opened the door and walked as quiet as I could into the house. I knew if I went up the main stairwell my parents might hear me going up. So I opted for the dark stairs towards the back of the house. I passed the rocking chair and gave it a wide berth. I would never sit in that thing.  
Once I reached the bottom of the stairwell I knew this was a mistake. Even though it was the quietest way to get to my room, I regretted it. I didn’t like these stairs at all. The last time I had been down them I heard the voice and fell on my butt on the way down. Darkness took over this part of the house. I felt chills immediately, but it was the best way to go up without waking my parents.  
“Screw it,” I said aloud to no one and walked up. I reached the door and fought to not look at it. Suddenly thinking of Pearl Brown, and the life she endured. Being locked in here day after day for God knows how long. My throat lurched and I thought I might get sick again. I couldn’t not look at the door, it was like an accident on the freeway. You just had to look at it hoping to see something you didn’t want to see. The intrigue won me over. I put a hand on the door for no apparent reason. Hoping maybe to say how sorry I was for what Pearl went through. It was a really sad story, one I would never forget all my life.  
“I’m sorry for what happened to you Pearl. I think that you deserved better.” I took my hand back and walked away.  
I reached the bathroom door and tried to open in. Shoot! I locked it from the other side the other day. So much for being quiet, I had no choice but to go back down the stairs and go up the main stairwell. When I turned around I walked into something strange. A cool mist appeared out of nowhere. I could feel the wetness on my hands and face. I was frozen in this state of wonder and disbelief.  
“Don’t be sorry,” a voice said. I turned around and no one was there. Again!  
“Who said…that?” My voice trembled in my throat. The mist fell to the ground and gathered up around my feet, finally making a small pool of water. The water spread and formed into a pair of shoes, continuing into legs covered in stockings. Now a full body, arms of a little girl, and suddenly a pretty little face. The girl stood before me wearing a dress fit for Shirley Temple and ringlets to match. She was as real as anybody, but as transparent as water. She smiled at me a dubious smile and repeated her words. “Don’t be sorry.”  
I jumped back and hit the doorway. She giggled a very adorable childlike giggle. “Don’t be sorry and don’t be scared either.” She stepped back giving me a bit of space. “You are the first to see me ever! I am so glad I found you. I wondered if you would come back.”  
“Wh...What?” I was now stuttering like an idiot. I considered for a moment that this was a dream. Maybe this whole evening had been a dream, even my nightly stroll with Ephraim.  
“I wasn’t sure if you heard me the first time you came over here. But now I knew you heard me and you can see me too.” She put her hands on her curls and started to twirl one, as if it was a nervous habit.  
“You were the one to say ‘no’ to me the other day?” I asked her, willing myself to calm down. I couldn’t believe I was talking to a puddle of water, which seemed to form a child. “What are you exactly?” 
“What do you think I am? I’m a ghost of course. An apparition some people say. ” She giggled again and I shook my head. “I am, or was, Pearl Brown. But I don’t know how to answer that question. Because really what is a ghost? Are they who they were when they lived? Or are they someone else?” 
 My head spun again and I suddenly wished I had my puke bucket. She was talking in riddles now. But the most disbelieving thing was she was talking to me and I could see her.  
“You’re Pearl Brown.” I knew who she was but I had to say it myself. “I mean you died, but you’re still her. Why are you here talking to me?” 
“I’m here because I never left. I can’t leave. I am talking to you because you can hear me and see me.”  
“How can I hear you and see you? Why are you still here in this house and not, you know, moved on?” She stopped twirling her hair and stared at me. 
“I don’t really know why you can see me. You must be special, because tons of people have come in here and no one has seen me. They could never hear me. But you… you can. You’re a special visitor.”  
“A special what? You’re the visitor, aren’t you?” I heard her right but I didn’t understand what she meant. 
“Oh no Brylee you’re the visitor here. This is our house, you’re just here temporarily. The others don’t like visitors, but I don’t mind so much.”  


 


                                                             Reviews for The Brown House 



Bex and Books review http://bexnbooks.blogspot.com.au/:   
“The Brown House is so much more than a ghost story; it combines an endearing romance, a young woman's coming of age and marvels at the wonders of family and friendship.”  Stacey Rourke: Author of the Gryphon Series 

 "Back in the day" it was Christopher Pike that thrilled teens with his twisted tales of ghosts, hauntings and teenage angst. Well the torch has been past to Mrs. Sloat!” 

Young Adult and Teen readers Reviews:  
“The Author does a fantastic job of creating great characters. Christy has a talent for keeping you on  the edge of your seat with anticipation. This book is a thrilling ride. It should definitely be in every teenagers hands.” 

R&M Fab Book reviews: 
www.rmfabbookreviews.blogspot.com/ 
 “With enough twists and turns to keep you breathless and guessing, Christy Sloat has a winner in The Brown House. Hands down, I give the book top ratings and would recommend this to everyone!” 


The Brown House was also featured in Indtale Magazine www.indtale.com 

“An old feud… magic… love and secrets… ghosts… The mystery and the past story were so incredibly intriguing and satisfying!”  


Two Women and A book review : www.twowomenandabookreview.blogspot.com 

“Christy Sloat completely knocked one out of the park with her writing, the story line; the whole idea was just amazing. I could not put it down; I read it in three days. 








Katherine Polillo- Author of Destine 

“The Brown House centers on a strong and endearing protagonist that readers will quickly fall in love with. The Brown House is a summer must read. Just be warned to sleep with the light on!” 

tiffanylovesbooks.wordpress.com 
“The Brown House is a great novel with lots of intrigue and suspense. Sloat reveals the story to the reader a little at a time. It mostly leaves you in a state of suspense until the entire story is revealed.” 
















                                                                  




                                                                 
                                                                         Buy Sheet 



Author: Christy Sloat 
Category: Young Adult Mystery and Suspense 
ISBN: 9780985538545 
Publication date: 6/28/2012 
Pages: 324 
Publisher: Anchor Group Publishing 
Cover: KC Designs 


Buy Links: 
Audible: http://amzn.to/2xyDJPL 











                                              Author Appearances and Book signings 



Barnes and Noble Glassboro New Jersey. For the book signing of her first book, The Many Lives of Avery Snow 
September, 24th 2012 

Franklin Township Public Library Book Signing and Author event 
September, 27th 2012 

Authors on the Greene Smithville, New Jersey Book Signing and Author event 
September, 15th 2012 

Collingswood, New Jersey, Book Fair, Author Event 
October, 6th 2012 

Y’all Fest Charleston, South Carolina Book Signing and Author Event 
November, 10th 2012 


 
Author Bio: 

Christy Sloat resides in New Jersey with her husband, two daughters and her Chihuahua, Sophie. Christy has embraced the love of reading and writing since her youth and was inspired by her grandmother's loving support. She loves adventurous journeys with her friends and can be known to get lost inside a bookstore. She is the bestselling author of twelve novels including, The Visitors Series, The Past Lives Series and the award-winning Slumber Duology. 
You can happily stalk here on these sites: 
http://authorchristysloat.weebly.com/ 
Twitter: @Christysloat 
Instagram:http://instagram.com/christysloat_writes